Now what?

Today marks the end of my unemployment eligibility.

I have a payment hitting my account Tuesday, then a final deposit should hit my bank account the middle of the month. It’ll be much less due to the way the weeks worked out .. and then, there’ll be … nothing.

I have no idea what comes next. I never thought it would get this far!  It’s been over a year ….. and despite all the resumes sent off, interviews attended, thank you notes written, not one single reference has been checked and even the things I thought were “sure things” didn’t pan out.

This week’s interview went quite well … but I was really hoping to hear that a reference had been contacted .. I can hope that it’s simply a matter of folk being on holiday and/or busy, but I know they were anxious to be able to let the successful candidate know no later than the end of next week.

This is a scary place to be.
This is a place I never wanted to be.
This is a place I never thought I’d be.

like the title says … now what???

2 Comments

  1. Maureen said,

    August 10, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Babe, I know exactly how you feel. I wish I had an answer for you. 😦 I wish I had an answer for myself too. 😦

  2. Monique said,

    August 14, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Guess what.. I’m in the exact same position. Unemployed since may 07.. benefits ran out in last December, savings in March.. Hundreds of jobs applied for.. I’ve been scrimping by ever since. I do a little freelance and live w/family now. This week I started a job at Subway.. humbling and mildly depressing is one way to put it.

    It doesn’t have to be scary though. The world isn’t coming to end.. the sky isn’t falling.

    stevepavlina.com has some good articles addressing money and career issues lately. check it out.


Leave a Reply

