Figuring out Life

A poster on a board I infrequent posed the question “how do you figure out what to do with your life.”
My first response was “@#$! if I know!”, but something compelled me to answer more seriously & I didn’t even really stop to think about what I was writing. I think I myself will need to be reminded of this part of my answer down the road, so am sharing it here!

…. I think life is a lot like sailing .. you can’t always go right *at* your destination .. sometimes you need to have an idea of where you’d like to go and then the prevailing winds mean needing to tack to work your way towards it .. and sometimes conditions can capsize the boat & you gotta decide if you’re gonna sink or swim, or right the boat & try again .. and sometimes when you get close to where you thought you wanted to be you find out it’s not what you were expecting and you need to change course again .. but meanwhile, you have to enjoy the trip or else it’s gonna be a lotta frustration and heartache ….

(and yes,there are other reasons why I may have fixated on a sailing metaphor, but we’re not going to go there today! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

