Continuing Limbo

Well last week was a good one for job searching with more than half-a-dozen things worth applying to & three interviews!  However one of the interview was an absolute dead end, another a case of wrong timing (I was overqualified for the job I applied for, but apparently a great candidate for something that won’t be available until the Fall *sigh) and the third promising, but no idea about salary & the main decision maker was leaving the following day for a two-week holiday. *sigh*

I’ve struggled with where my career should be going next so much this last year. On the one hand, I think that whatever I do, it can be used. Ultimately, what matters most is relationship with others & that can be done in any job. On the other hand, it seems to me I have skills, abilities and a modecum of intelligence and it seems silly to me to not use it.  I wondered wether I needed to “swallow my pride” and be willing to take *any* job, and I certainly reached the point a couple weeks ago of letting go and putting in an application to Tim Horton’s .. but again, that doesn’t seem to fit with purpose in my life.

i don’t want to be needing assistance – whether in terms of welfare, subsidized housing, subsidized daycare, any social program like that. It bothers me to think I may be taking resources that someone else needs .. what about the people that aren’t able to work because of health or mental issues for instance?  it bothers me that I’m having to contemplate ending my sponsorship of a child in a developing country because I am worrying about how to put food on my own table. To me I have the capacity to be working in a *good* job and how much better would it not be to have abundance that could be shared with others?  But it’s still not coming.

To date I have applied for well over 50 jobs in the last year. I’ve had about 8 interviews. None yet got as far as a reference check. I’ve applied for things I’ve been overqualified for, perfect for, underqualified for. Three different agencies. Close to a dozen friends asked for their input and help.

*sigh* I’m not good at being patient and this being in limbo on a job and even a home (since I’ve been looking out of town as well as within) is very frustrating.

1 Comment

  1. Alexis said,

    July 28, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Tori~ I hope things fall into place soon. ((hugs))


Leave a Reply

