Home again!

Ahhhhhhhh!

The Child and I got home mid-afternoon and at first, it felt small & cramped & messy. Plus it was bloody cold as I’d turned the heat waaaaay down. and there was a funky smell in the kitchen. but once we got the car emptied, retrieved the bunny from my friend, relieved the fridge of the science projects and unpacked as the place warmed up again, it felt *good* to be back home!

So, some odds & ends for my 3 or so readers 🙂

First, a genuine sunrise:
100_2200
(sorry for the blurriness, no tripod)

Next, the next knitting project on the needles:
Woodland Shawl Take 1

This will become this when it’s done. This is my first shawl as well as my first “real” lace. Technically The Child’s knitted baby blanket is lace, but it was done in a heavier weight yarn & acrylic, which I’ve since learned is a poor choice for baby items. I’ve actually grown into a bit of a “yarn snob” now that I understand a *little* about fibre and it’s various properties and have started to discover better prices for the materials I like. I’m making the shalw in the recommended Lana Grossa and the entire project is less than $20 – more than reasonable in my opinion!

The Child burst into tears on the drive home because he missed the dogs already. He was sad too that he hadn’t gotten to say goodbye to the puppies *again*. He did get in some good cuddle time:
100_2161

Yes, there *was* some downtime while we were there:
100_2170

The dog in front in this next picture is the one *I’ll* miss the most:
100_2129

and here’s a shot of the pups, who just loved playing with The Child:
100_2163
Don’t they just *look* like they’re up to something?

Here’s a shot of The Child by one of the snow mountains:
100_2195
Posting it larger than the others to give a better idea of the height of that snow. That’s just the stuff plowed from one small section of the drive – there were mounds this size pretty much surrounding the driveway. That’s a LOT of snow! I wish I’d thought to snap some pics on the *really* snowy days & of the freshly fallen snow!

I’m  glad The Child & I had the fun of spending time on the farm & playing with the dogs, but I’m glad it’s not my full-time gig!  I’m proud of how well he did with his sight vocabulary while we were away but am definitely ready to hand him off to his Sk teacher for a couple hours tomorrow! 😉

Wonder what our next adventure will be …..

4 Comments

  1. Alexis said,

    February 24, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I am glad the mini-job went well. Looks like you guys had an amazing time. I can’t believe how grown up “the child” is getting.

    Welcome home!

  2. dlk said,

    February 29, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Hey, I’m number 4 😉
    dlk

  3. bluebunny said,

    February 29, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Well woohoo for that! who knew?! 🙂 Nice to “see” ya dlk!

    Thanks AJ for stopping by!

  4. Val said,

    March 11, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Love seeing the pics of C. Love the doggies, too. they’re so adorable.


Leave a Reply

