Another Day in the Life

I was lucky enough to have what was a darn near perfect day with The Child today!  Some humour, some exploring, some craftiness, some fun & some sillness!

We started the day leisurely in our jammies, not needing to dash off anywhere – always a nice treat in my mind!  Then it was to the grocery store where we were about 1/3 of the way through our shopping when he decided he needed to use the bathroom RIGHT NOW!  Which admitedly made me a little frustrated, but mostly, made me shake my head and chuckle! Finally the original mission was accomplished.

After a simple lunch, we headed outside to gather some fall leaves, always interesting to see what The Child thinks is beautiful!  We brought them inside and ironed some flat for tracing & experimented with crayons, wax paper & the hot iron for some neat artwork.  Then I dug out my few & simple Hallowe’en decorations .. and what seems like not much to me of course is cause for much excitement from The Child, gotta love it!  He decided he needed to put on the scary mask that was amongst the decorations and picked up my black felt cape that I’d tossed over the chair earlier (it’s great for pulling on to sit & drink my coffee outside when The Child is playing outside and there’s a chill in the air) and out the door he goes to terrorize the neighbour’s younger son! 😉

Eventually he needs a break from playing outside so it’s inside for some tv.  I’d promised him earlier in the week we could do something special on the weekend, and he chose this time to remind me.  I had no brilliant ideas of where to go on my very limited budget so asked him what *he* wanted to do.  “McDonald’s?  to play?” Gee, did I get off lightly on that one, or what?  So off we headed to the Golden Arches for an early dinner followed by me contentedly sitting and knitting while he happily clambered in the play place.

His best friend was outside when we got home, so layering up my vest and fleece I sat with the paper while they entertained each other. The Child wasn’t overly impressed when it was time to come in, but well, no day is completely “perfect”!  😉  A bedtime snack, the usual bedtime routine and a story from Winnie-the-Pooh followed by several hugs and kisses rounded the day out quite nicely.

Not a day that’ll likely stand out for either The Child or me years down the road, but still lovely!

3 Comments

  1. Alexis said,

    October 16, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Sounds like a perfect day Tori 🙂

  2. Lisa said,

    November 2, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Sounds like a perfect day!

  3. Val said,

    November 10, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    I’m so glad it was so good 🙂 Is his bff Jer? 🙂 How cute!!!


Leave a Reply

