Life Stinks (sometimes)

So in follow-up to my shock post …. I got let go from my job last Tuesday.  My position was declared redundant as of that Tuesday – HUGE shock! I had a week to collect my personal effects and get legal input on the situation before signing off on the settlement release & termination letter.  VERY stressful!

Anyways, now that I have signed things off I’m over the worst of the shock and have started looking at job openings as well as have had a couple sessions with a vocational counsellor.  I am very lucky to have a lot of options open to me (ie perhaps being eleible for funding through gov’t to return to school for a while, having time to look for something that’s a good fit, having contacts in various places …)

Initially the stress made me feel physically ill, but that’s been better the last couple days & I actually managed to get a workout in today.  It’s not fun & it’s certainly still fresh enough to get overwhelming at times, but I’ll get through!

4 Comments

  1. Val said,

    August 2, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    ((hugs)), Tori. Think of this as a new beginning. A whole new chance at something great. You can do it, too. I have so much faith in you!!!

  2. Robin said,

    August 6, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    Interested in a move? Nothing currently available but I could watch. If you successfully land a permenant job out here, they pay for your move. https://uhire.uvic.ca/cgi-bin/WebObjects/uhire

  3. Alexis said,

    August 14, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Awwww Tori ((hugs)) I just know the perfect job is out there for you. I hope something falls into place soon.

  4. Lisa said,

    September 10, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Holy Crap! That’s awful. I have a friend who was fired from his job last week. He has 2 children and a wife, and they were SHOCKED to say the least. I’m so sorry that you have had to go through this, but as the wife of my friend said… “This could be a blessing in disguise!” Good Luck with everything! LOVE YOU!


Leave a Reply

