arggg!

With energy running low as I slowly get better from this latest bout of strep, knitting was a perfect low-key activity last night, so settled down into starting on the Mystery stole project.

I’m not used to reading off a chart, so it was slow-going for a while, but I made pretty decent progress.  I was glad I’d read some of the list tips, especially the one about using lifelines.  I’d never heard of these before, but basically, you thread a thread through a finished row of stitches while still on the needle, ends hanging out, the idea being if need be, it makes it easy to frog back to that spot & pick up from the row rather than needing to do fiddly tinking or frogging the whole darn thing.  Had to do this a couple of times & managed to get through 24 rows.  When I left off before going to bed, I knew I needed to fix the row I’d just frogged to.  Then on re-checking the chart this morning, I realize my mistake actually goes further back than that, past where I have a lifeline, so it looks like the whole darn thing is getting frogged and re-started tonight.

ARGGGGGGG.

2 Comments

  1. September 5, 2007 at 10:22 am

    I have only done one project using a chart so far.

    I am sad you had to rip it out. That stole looks complicated! I have seen it completed, and am sort of glad I didn’t decide to start it (yet?) I have such a list of projects waiting for me to start/complete that by the time I am ready for it, maybe I will have forgotten I wanted to do it!

  2. bluebunny said,

    September 5, 2007 at 10:35 am

    It’s been a looong time since using a chart for me! It *is* a complex pattern, but I’ve seen some of the completed photos too & am wanting to get back to mine as a result! It got put in “time out” for a while, lol! Thanks for stopping by 🙂


Leave a Reply

