Memorable Books

A plurk friend posted a challenge: share the five books that have been most influential in your life, or simply that you’ve enjoyed the most including at least one book from childhood, adolescence and adulthood and one that might be classified a “guilty pleasure”.

I love books.  I read voraciously.  Trying to come up with just five books is a very difficult task indeed!

My choice for young childhood would be The Velveteen Rabbit, such a beautiful tale about a beloved child’s toy. 

Some of the authors and books that stand out from later childhood include Beverly Cleary, Judy Blume, Agatha Christie, the Nancy Drew Books, The Fantastic Five, Stephen King (I recall my mother being horrified I was reading those before my teens), Dean Koontz … the most memorable thought would have to be The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. Such a fantastic journey, such beautiful images it created in my mind!

Adolescence saw me reading V.C. Andrews, more Stephen King & Dean Koontz, Kurt Vonnegut, George Orwell, Shakespeare, Hemingway, George Bernard Shaw, Jane Austen (yes those classics were all by choice).  It’s easy though to pick the most influential book of that time of my life, as I became heavily involved with a Born Again Christian group, so the Bible was by far the most important and influential book of that time of my life. 

Trying to pick a single book however, from my adulthood so far, feels darn near impossible.  I’ve read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlader series, Jean M Auel’s Earth Children series, almost everything by Maragret Atwood,  yet more Stephen King & Dean Koontz, Christopher Moore, Terry Brooks, Terry Pratchett, Jodi Picoult, Kelley Armstrong, Mary Higgins Clark, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and many more; quite the range! Some of the books that stand out for me include Richard Armstrong’s book God Doesn’t Shoot Craps, The Shack by William P. Young, Upside Down by Tim Bailey, August by Judith Rossner, One Door Away From Heaven by Dean Koontz, Or Your Money Back by Nicole Lorenz, Margaret Atwood’s Oryx & Crake,  Terry Pratchett’s The Light Fantastic (simply because this was my introduction to him), The Horse Whisperer by Nicolas Sparks, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. 

I think if I really had to single out a book though, I’d pick The Stand by Stephen King, one of the best post-apocalyptic  pieces of fiction I’ve read yet.

As for guilty pleasure book, I’d pick any of  Laurell K. Hamilton’s  faery books or Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books. 

I’d love to hear other’s five picks!

8 Comments

  1. Pignut said,

    February 28, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    How interesting! I was really into Stephen King as a teen as well, partly because my mum encouraged me to read his stuff. I know what you mean though – it’s so hard to pick just five, that’s why my list is taking so long to decide on! I’ll let you know when it’s done though. I’ve got three definites so far…

  2. Pignut said,

    March 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Finally, mine’s finished! http://secretfreelancer.blogspot.com/2011/03/my-life-in-books.html

  3. WillowC said,

    March 2, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I think we have quite similar tastes! I could have picked Stephen King’s “On Writing” as one of mine, I think, because it’s been a great inspiration. And I think “The Stand” is a wonderful book.

    I am in agreement with roughly 2/3 of your list, particularly Jodi Picoult (who I once wrote to and received a lovely response – and rumour has it she tries to use fans’ names in her books and the next one out had a character with my surname! I refuse point blank to accept that this is coincidence), Margaret Atwood, Terry Pratchett and Dean Koontz. The remaining 1/3 shall be added to my reading list, on the basis that you clearly have excellent taste.

    • bluebunny said,

      March 2, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      Well thank you! I love that this excercise has added to my “to read” list as I see what others pick! How awesome Jodi Picoult took the time to respond to you! I waas so thrilled when Richard Armstrong, mentioned in my post, took the time to write me!

  4. March 7, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I may have to yoink this idea from you and post my own.

    PS How did I not have you on my RSS reader until now? Rectified!

    PPS OMGOMGMYNOVELISONYOURLISTOMGOMG

    • bluebunny said,

      March 7, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Please do & let me know! Though I do a fairly decent job of stalking you! :) and YEAH! I wasn’t kidding! I LOVED your novel and so want to read MORE!!!

  5. Norma said,

    March 21, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Gotten here a little slow, how ever I have loved and read books since before I went to school. A Secret Garden would be a biggie. while others read Charlottes Webb I read the White Oalkes of Jalna series before the tv series came out – great can. lit for a 13 yr old. I think the old gothic stories held me entranced as a young teen- romance and mystery still read em as I find them in yard sales. Like you the Bible is my top pick as it is a love letter to mankind from our heavenly Dad. I also gobble up any ofMax Lucados books. Anne of Green Gables and all the other Anne books caught my imagineation and I thought we were kindred souls, and feltr like I belonged at Green Gables rather than in my own home, There oh yeah thelittle Women series, too many to ever pick just 5. (lol) books are friends visit many times
    Norma


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

